Bathing is not Optional

Earlier today I was reading this summer’s “The Best of New England,” by New England Travel to see what I would learn about the greater Massachusetts-Vermont area. This is what I learned:

In Vermont, “Every person is required to bathe at least once a week, Saturday night.”

Upstanding citizen that I am, I needed to verify this information because, well, I’ve definitely broken the law a couple of times. I mean, the bathing Saturday night part I’ve violated a few times, not the whole not bathing for a week thing.

Unfortunately, I have yet to find a codified source. I did find this list of other Vermont laws though. Whistling under water? Really?

Also listed in the New England Travel Magazine that pertains to Middlebury are the Swift House Inn and Tully and Marie’s,

