Be Gentle, It’s My First Time

For me MiddBlog used to be a look-no-touch policy, but ever since Michiko Kakutani claimed in the NYT that the blogosphere destroys society, I’ve been at war. A brutal, savage, 110-wpm-touch-typing war.

She dismisses the Internet as a cut-copy culture, an obstacle against original authorship, a destroyer of old world media and a cultivator of group mentalities, but I protest. There’s some truth to these words, yeah – and I would encourage you to offer your opinions below – but hey, maybe she’s just scared you or I can write something too now, huh?

So here I am. Pretty sweet. I’m Michael Suen, a junior English major cloistered in the ‘Bury, and the newest addition to the editorial roster. Raised in Hong Kong, I’m most interested in lending an international voice to the site, though I’m also tickled by the arts, culture, media and civic-related topics.

Most likely, though, I’ll be covering a wide range of things here at the Blog of the Middlebury. Look out in the coming days! Until then, you can find my work at 21st Century Boy.

In the meantime, my war continues. Did the Internet send us swirling down the toilet? What do my fellow Middlebury bloggers and social media users (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn) think? Prove Kakutani wrong and make your thoughts known.

One thought on “Be Gentle, It’s My First Time

  1. Tweets that mention Be Gentle, It’s My First Time « MiddBlog -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.