Sunday Reading: Would JFK get into Midd?

Yet another week has come and gone and the end of J-term approaches.  With that I’ll leave you with some interesting stories from the week.

CHINA: After returning from a trip intended to repair relations with the United States, President Hu Jintao of China is preparing his successor, current vice president Xi Jinping for leadership in the not-too-distant future.

COLLEGE APPS: This year, Harvard drew in a record 35,000 applications this year. This article suggested that if JFK applied to Harvard in 2010, he might not have gotten in.  Here is an excerpt from his application, answering the question “Why do you wish to come to Harvard?”

“The reasons that I have for wanting to go to Harvard are several. I feel that Harvard can give me a better background and a better liberal education than any other university. I have always wanted to go there, as I have felt that it is not just another college, but is a university with something definite to offer. Then to, I would like to go to the same college as my father. To be a ‘Harvard man’ is an enviable distinction, and one that I sincerely hope I shall attain.”

SPORTS: As the playoffs come to an end, Super Bowl XLV will be the Green Bay Packers against the Pittsburg Steelers.  Huffington Post reports the earliest odds, putting the Packers two points ahead.

PORTUGAL: 10 years ago, Portugal officials decriminalized the possession of illicit drugs while continuing to persecute the distribution and trafficking of those same drugs.  After a decade of the policy, despite many concerns from public officials that the country would become a junkie nirvana, the policy seems to have been successful.

EDUCATION: new study published  by the journal Science proves that taking tests, rather than just being a passive measurement of success, actually helps students learn more effectively.

 

And here is your video of the week:

 

